When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

What did I buy for $25.00 at the pawn shop today?

FloridaSam

I stopped by a pawn shop today to look for a guitar amp and stumbled upon this. It was amongst a bunch of broken Armitrons and Fossils in the display cabinet. Its beat up pretty bad. The crown wouldn't screw down, its missing its pearl, it looks like it was used to grind rebar at some point in its life. I'm no expert at all but something about this intrigued me. First, it was certainly an ETA movement. High beat, and the feel and quickset are text book ETA. Secondly the band threw me for a loop. Its been abused. HEAVILY abused.......yet the gold shows no sign of wear. If this was plated, or even "wrapped" with the gouges, scrapes, scratches and chunks missing some base metal would show. None. My spidey senses were telling me this MIGHT have solid gold middle links.

Due to the overall condition of the piece I offered $25.00 out the the door and my offer was quickly accepted.

I took the bracelet off and saw what I expected... the W860168 serial number which upon Google search is a known rep number.

I then used a bit of elbow grease and metal polish and the band shined up VERY nicely. A trip to a local jewler friend of mine confiemed that the bracelet links are between 10k and 14k solid! What do I have here? Anyone seen or have one like this? The watch itself is certainly no super rep... the date is off center, the crown is well....horrendous... but the crystal is superb, the lume on the dial is sublime, bright and grogeous cream color that looks great. The dial print is ok, not the sharpest I have seen by any stretch. The pearl is currently a piece of soap :) to fill the hole, and the watch is pretty dusty.