When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

1665 Rail Dial, my new toy

FxrAndy

Well this one just arrived yesterday, in different packages and then it was a long night at the bench modding and putting it all togther, my way. Like a 78 rail dial (the MBW serial number matches for that year just about)

A bit like this one here but newer and better

78raildial.jpg

DSCF3236.jpg

As you all know i like my watches to look new ish or old but well looked after, and in particualar usable all the time.

I had been collecting parts for this one for a few months and as soon as I had all the major parts I had to get to work on it, in particular I wanted the He valve to look real, Now i had toyed with the idea of making a gen style one on the lathe but then I thought it is a rep it will never be asked to work as I will never be in a helium rich over pressure enviroment so what could I do just to make it look different (and to be honest i dont think i have) I drilled out the old He Valve area in the MBW case and then turned a 1.65mm plug of SS, polished and domed the top and glued it in to the case so that it was more recessed then the MBW, well my wife cant tell the difference from before and after the two hours work, ( have you ever tryed to drill on top of a dome dead in the center) What do you think?

16652.jpg

DSCF3237.jpg

Any difference?

A gen for comparison

valvefitted.jpg

Any way the rest of the build and parts used

Modded MBW old school case with:-

Lugs drilled, gen spring bars

Modded CGs

Modded He Valve area

Gen Tube and Crown (need a new crown as the threads are on the way out on this one)

Clarks T39 crystal (and this is pretty damn close to the gen T39 service crystal)

ETA 2846 21600 movement, just serviced, MBW silver DWO, with Hacking lever added (quick set date still fitted)

Ingod Rail Dial relumed by me (not my best work i have to admit)