When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

TC sub project.

dbane883

As some of you know, I have worked on a few TC 16610 cases over the years for a few folks . But I am by no means an expert on sapphire subs and all the dial variants of the 16610.

But here is something I put together for my son using leftover parts that have accumulated over the years. Been meaning to do this for over a year and finally getting around to it now.

I will say it. TC cases, especially the recent ones, kinda suck right out of the box. Here is an example of how poor the satin finish is on the lug tops. Not sure how he's getting them finished, but looks like a crude metal brush if you ask me. TC on the right, and after I re-satin on the left:

39603c5daa18949527c3da3d2c620d5a.jpg

There are other issues like uneven lug thicknesses and a weird raised platform area under the crystal gasket. Overall fit and finish has definitely changed over the years. Some will say it's blasphemy to criticize TC, but it's the truth.

I had some issues fitting a SA3135v2 movement into the case. While the SA3135 accepts a gen dial, it's marginally too narrow such that the movement holding screws don't quite grab the inside grooves:

914c50bd564c53cb6f611b41d9001917.jpg

I will have to make up some tabs of some sort so it fits securely. I also tried a gen 3135 movement and it too fits a bit loose. The screws just barely hold it to the case. So it shows that the inside of the TC case is not machined consistently. Perhaps other TC examples have no issues but the one I'm using definitely is off.

But after I reshaped the case, added lugholes and bevels and some CG work, here is the finished gift. Gen dial, hands, crown/tube, crystal, insert. I have still not grown out of my aversion to sapphire crystals with cyclops. As such I've used a gen no-date crystal which kinda gives it a sea dweller look. Anyhow I prefer it this way.