When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Seestern Sub 300 Orange Doxa Homage

cornerstone

The Seestern has landed!!

watch3.jpg.a31c45ac8ad3705fac2fbefd72731f7c.jpg

watch_water.thumb.jpg.ef57289b24fdd3c3f47c07209f070c11.jpg

It's important to baptize the Seestern in its natural habitat.

watch4.thumb.jpg.192d0e4298adee2a8c6aa2b728db2803.jpg

A few thoughts:

- I think it looks a bit different in photos than in 3d.  It's a bit like the opposite of taking photos of the moon, and I think the eyes play tricks.  It has one of the smallest dials of any watch I own.  That's only strange when the other watches are close by though, then they suddenly look like wrist clocks.

- I'm still learning the 'ooh' angles with it.  The dial is so recessed there are a lot of angles where it's in shadow, or there is refracted light.  Head on it isn't that easy to read (I think my eyes naturally focus on the crystal not the dial in daylight as stupid as that sounds), but then there are other angles where it does very cool things.  You know how it goes.

- Wears well

- Came with tools, which I think is a nice touch.

- I think the caseback and Seestern branding is pretty cool.  Looks good on the crown.

- On the lookout for something with a domed crystal, or plays with that aspect of it (I'm a bit crystal obsessed), but happy to have this one in orange. 

Big thanks for the heads up on this one.  Feels like the kind of watch I want to have adventures with so it can earn its own back story down the track.

Verrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrry nice!!  Wow!!  Thanks for the writeup.  I've already got the orange "300T" from Maranez and Tactical Frog and I'm trying hard not to be "that guy" who buys the Seestern too.  But wow your photos make it hard to resist.  So far I like the Froggie best, the bezel is ultra low profile and the crystal is ever so slightly domed, so it puts the dial and hands much closer to the surface.