When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

my watch collection

deltatahoe

so i've been collecting replicas for nearly six years at this point, and boy has it been fun. initially when i started collecting reps, i was relatively new to watches. i didn't have any gens, so to be honest i didn't have much basis for comparison -- these were watches that looked, worked and felt like the real thing to me. since that time i've added some gens to my collection, and while gens are undoubtedly hard to beat, i have to say -- some of our reps are truly incredible replications of some very fine timepieces. furthermore, while everyone goes through different stages in their watch collecting, i think there is a place for both reps and gens in every watch enthusiast's collection.

i think one big question most people ask have to answer when they start collecting replicas is whether or not to pay up for a "swiss" movement or go with the cheaper, asian alternative. my approach is generally to buy watches with asian movements (assuming the beat rate is the same as the genuine) and spend the difference that i could have spent on a swiss movement on nice straps. i've found most of the asian movements have help up pretty well, and i always figure worst case scenario if a movement dies on me in a watch i really love, i'll swap it out with a real ETA or other swiss movement at that point.

anyways, enough about my philosophy on collecting replica watches and on to the actual watches...

i'm going to start with my pams. one of the great things about panerai is the variety of styles that all have a distinct, unique look (well, at least to those of us obsessed with watches). combine that with the variety of straps out there and you've got quite a few options. each watch/strap combination serves its own purpose; there is nothing more satisfying than finding the perfect strap for the right watch and/or occasion.