When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Is this Genuine 5513? Please Help

Thor

Hi gang!

I have bought this 5513 from a well known antique watchstore around my area.

Well, I've known the guy who owns the shop and he offered me to buy this vintage sub from him, so I bought it.

However, after I came home, I have noticed couple of things that bother me.. Crown guard and the bracelets... thay look like replica to me so I started to think it may have some after market parts.

Then again, I am no expert in these watches and was wondering if you guys could help me out to verify this watch.

I would really appreciate it if you could tell me if there is any replica parts on this watch.

I have paid about $2800 for this watch, and the guy who sold this watch told me to come back if I find anything that is not genuine.

Please help!

sorry for the bad pics..

back

Go to a local jeweller, have them open the caseback, and you'll know for sure.

For $2800 I would not accept anyting less than opening the caseback, and if it's a fake, leave the caseback loose, and get your $$$ back...

There is no other test that is 100% accurate...

RG

thanks for your reply Ziggy,

I have check the movements inside, and the movement was genuine..

but I was wondering if there are any after market replacement parts such as case, dial bracelet, etc..

couple of descriptions..

Bracelet have no rivets or screws.. it looks like the steel is folded, can't take out any of the links, and it is very light. I have never seen this type of bracelets before...

Crystal seems like superdome type.

Thanks

DK

It all looks very very nice. The only thing that's worrisome is the pearl looks to be off-center in its triangle... but that can be simply the angle of the photo. And the pearl does look to be in an acrylic ring, which makes me think genuine (and my bad eyes).