When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Explorer 1 Help

Guest hoopty

Guest hoopty

After doing some research I decided on purchasing a EXP 1. Yesterday I finally received it, after traveling a long way from the Netherlands.

DSC02571.jpg

Being an artist I have already started to notice some flaws which are already giving me an itch, soo for reassurance I made a trip to my local Rolex AD and came to realize that my reps crystal is not as thick and has the very evident ROLEX crown itching at 6 o'clock, which the original did not. Also that the crown on my REP is thicker when compared to its GEN counter part.

I am sorry if I am sounding anal, But I have a keen eye, even though it's a superb rep, which honestly feels just as good as the original. I guess I already want to mod it. so any suggestions on where I can source those parts?

Also I have already spoken to some of the moders; most have openly stated that they have never worked with this particular model and dont know if they will be able to help. any suggestions on who I can inquire too?

Thank You

Guest hoopty
I guess the only mod you can do on it is installing a gen crown+tube.

I'm pretty sure that a gen crystal will not fit.

Or you can buy a gen case+crystal+crown for around 250$ and build a franken explorer like ubi did.

Thanks, Though any Idea where I can source any of those from?

Or you can buy a gen case+crystal+crown for around 250$ and build a franken explorer like ubi did.

Agreed :) This is probably one of the more cost effective frankens that one could do...

Start with a gen 16200 case set:

IMG_2826.jpg

Pop the cyclops:

IMG_2848.jpg

Add a gen 14270 or 114270 dial:

IMG_2867.jpg

IMG_2881.jpg

Plus an ETA 2824:

IMG_2883.jpg

Finish with hands:

IMG_3152.jpg

All for less than $700US, which is one of the less expensive frankensteins out there.