When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

2834-2 Movement in a Sub?

Gadget Man

Guys,

I have just opened up one of my old two tone subs that's still going strong after approx 3.5 years but it needs a new tube/crown as the threads have worn.

Anyway, When I bought it I understaood it had an ETA 2836-2 movement but I have just looked and it's a 2834-2 (the case has the serial P863698 and the case has lug holes).

On the movement between the 2834-2 and before the ETA trademark I can make out what looks like the letters VBY and underneath that is AO then to the right of the ETA symbol are the letters AR with what looks like the number 2169 under that?

Can anyone tell me anything about either this movement or this model of case?

I have tried to take some photo's but they all came out blurred :mellow:

I've not come accross 2834-2's being fitted in Rolex reps before only 2836-2's but I'm no expert, would this be a better movement or is it just the same as a 2836-2 essentially (it looks identical)?

Cheers

Simon

Functionally similar, but differing sizes

ETA 2834-2

Dia - 29mm

Height - 5.25mm

Day located around perimeter of movement at 12 o'clock (if you are building a DayDate rep, this is the 1 you want to use).

ETA 2836-2

Dia - 25.6mm

Height - 5.05mm

Day located adjacent to date at 3 o'clock.

Both - automatic 28.8k bph with 40 hour power reserve, hacking, sweep second with quickset day/date. I believe both are currently still in production.

I have a 2834-2 in my franken 16800. As freddy says, it should be a 29mm movement, but if the day feature isn't used, I think it may be possible to essentially make it a 25.6mm movement- the ring along the outside is removed along with the day feature. So it becomes something similar to a 2836. Mine originally came out of a C-omex Submariner- a Sub knock-off. Like so many things in the CN rep world, there's no real logic for what the Chinese do, I guess.