When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Rolex Daytona! Enlighten me please :)

edgematic1

Guys,

I'm starting to get more appreciation for Rolex. After ordering a TC V6 I went to the AD in town (@ honeybear, the one you know too ;) ) and tried the Daytona. To be honest, I like it quite a lot. It's small but I feel it's a great piece for me.

I have absolutely 0 knowledge about Rolex. I might be knowledgable about AP, when speaking of Rolex it's the opposite since they never caught my attention, and if they did it was in a wrong way.

Why I started this thread is because I'd like to know more about the Daytona and the history, mainly about the 116520.

What is a good series to buy (as gen) and why? Are there any good reps out there? I know there are issues with the movement but is the dial lay-out wrong too? I absolutely have no idea. I'm a true rolex noob.

What gen series would you advise and why?

What rep would you advise and why?

Thanks! :)

16520b_116520w_1280.jpg

Hi, 
There is 2 kind of rep:
Daytona powered by a cheap 21j. 
Daytona powered by an A7750.
There's two A7750 for Daytona, sec@9 reliable (wrong dial with sub dial too spaces between each other)
And sec@6 modified woth correct dial but the movement reliably is quiet random. 

The good thing about the 21j is first the correct case thickness, but generally those reps have too many flaws, glass instead sapphire crystal no rehaut engraved, sub dials too spaced, no LEC, cheap bracelet and buckle etc..

The A7750 is pretty well made and close to gen, but the watch will be more thick than the gen. 

Here are my two Daytona, A7750 on the left and 21j on the right:

9arypaby.jpg

Here is a picture of the gen :

Rolex+Daytona+116509.jpg

I forgot to say that the 21j gives you normally the date and the day f the week and the A7750 version has working chronograph ! Of course !