When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Strange behaviour

fredrik m

I have an Asian 21J Omega Seamaster GMT with a very strange behaviour.

On the wrist the watch keeps perfect time and seams to wind just fine.

When I take it of at night and leave it on my desk the hour, minute and GMT hands stops after a couple of hours BUT the second hand keeps running.

I have watched the second hand for a couple of revolutions and it works just fine but the minute hand is completely still.

When I set the time it sometimes feels a little bit rough.

When the time is set the watch runs perfect again.

Your cannon pin is slipping or defective...

RG

Sounds like it is slipping...but problem may not be with cannon pinion...could be another gear providing too much resistance. But, it is definately under the dial in one of the gears that drives the date change.

I have this problem with a 2836 that is getting replaced with a 2846, so I've decided not to get it repaired. Is it something simple to fix that a beginner can use as his first foray under the dial? :D

It's not too difficult to repair, certainly easier and less prone to damage than trying to change any other gears. You have to remove the dial and hands, then the datewheel, datechange cover, keyless works cover, then all the associated drive gears, and finally the cannon pin gear. Best reference is to use the ETA tech sheets they show the disassembly steps (not much use in this case for an Asian model).

If your seconds hand works, but the minute/hour hands stop, it's always the cannon pin that is causing it, it can't be anything else. If any of the other gears were bad or casuing too much resistance, the seconds hand would stop running. The fact that the seconds hand works, indicates that the problem is dial side, if it was the calendar gear jamming up, the movement would stop, and the seconds hand would not run at all...

@kruzer00