When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Crystal Installation

kritz

I am not an expert on this subject but what I know about crystal installation is that the crystal don't simply pop in.

Crystals fit very tight to the bezel, this is needed for the watch to be waterproof under pressure. The crystals fit so tight that they need to be pressed using a crystal press. You also need some skill and experience to select the right dice for the crystal you are going to install, further more you need to be able to align the crystal perfectly to the bezel. My watch guy charges about 20 euro to do the job, I guess the most will charge similar.

If you want to do it yourself because you like tinkering with watches and plan to make this a serious hobby first invest in a good crystal press and practice on some cheap watches and only attempt to replace your PAM crystal if you can accept the consequences of ruining a hand, a dial or a crystal... If the replacement of your crystal is a one timer take it to your watch guy...

Here another members experience on D.I.Y. crystal replacement, the right tools and some comments by an experience d watch smith... Hope it helps.

http://www.rwg.cc/members/index.php?showto...l=crystal+press

I also seem to remember that the gasket on which the crystal sits, and that seals the crystal, is made of teflon -- at least this is what my watchsmith told me.

I am not an expert on this subject but what I know about crystal installation is that the crystal don't simply pop in.