When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Pick the fake...

Thor

I would not have been able to tell, but then again, I'm

freshly infected with the RWG virus. Did not even try

to get one of them RWG watches. So I'm excited to

see how the terminally ill are going to perform.

228-8233.jpg

B is the genuine.

That was an easy one!

B=gen

position of the = sign

More than just the '=' gives this one away.

I'm a newb and figured that one out.

B for sure, but what the hell has happened to the print on dial A.? Looks like someone has put chemicals on it lol

Yes the bottom lines of all the text on the 'A' pic are a bit too straight & perfect - remember we are talking 60's 70's typograph machines here

B has bit off font, and the "m" is bold, yeah this is a simple case indeed. "A" looks to have some reflection, bad pic I suppose.

"B" is genuine and the picture is from:-

My Webpage

A = water based... hence the streaking?!?!

I'd say A is gen only with a "mulfunctioning" technician :Jumpy:

I have no idea which one is gen so I did a little research. I found the following pic with description:

The Unique Prototype Double Red Sea-Dweller/Submariner

Model No.: 1665 Circa 1967 Serial Number 1.7 million range.

I believe this dial configuration to be unique, well I have never seen one like it, and its discovery will help us all to understand the Rolex think tank behind the final version of the Double Red Sea-Dweller dial.

post-2837-1206115050_thumb.jpg Definitely a different font. Notice how the 6 looks like the Panerai font.

Note the serif used for the font. The size... The position. It's all different. There are 5 - 6 known dials for the Double Red 1665 that are confirmed. Each has it's own unique characteristic.