When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

A question on FSB, RAM & CPU clock speeds

DemonSlayer

I'm just getting into the hardware aspect on computers. I've spent the last few hours reading up on clock speeds, cycles, RAM configurations, FSB and other settings. Must say the information is overwhelming for a newbie, I'm finding it difficult to grasp the meanings.

I have an older computer running on a AMD Athlon XP 2100+ processor. This processor has an FSB speed of 133MHz, but delivers an actual FSB speed of 266Mhz due to its "double pump" feature. I recently bought a 1GB DDR400 PC3200 RAM module. The motherboard has two memory slots. It can support 2 RAM modules @ PC2700(DDR333) or PC2100(DDR266), but only 1 slot can be used if I am inserting a PC3200 DDR400 module.

The jumper setting for the cpu FSB frequency on the motherboard is set to 266Mhz. On the BIOS, the CPU host frequency is set to "auto" and it detects a frequency of 133Mhz.

The DRAM frequency was previously set to "auto" but I changed it to "200MHz [DDR400]" because I thought that gives me fastest speed out of the RAM module.

The DRAM CAS Latency is also set on "auto" on the BIOS. I can choose from 3T, 2.5T, 2T and Auto.

A couple of questions:

1)Shall I set the jumper setting manually on the motherboard to 133Mhz, or leave it as it is currently set to 266Mhz. I thought it might be better to change it to 133Mhz as the processor runs at 133Mhz (but supposedly delivers actual speed of 266Mhz).

2)Is it best to leave the DRAM frequency to 200Mhz - DDR400 or shall I choose a lower setting, or leave it on auto. Is the RAM actually working to its full potential or are there any tweaks I can do to make it run faster.

3)As the CPU has a FSB speed of 133Mhz (266Mhz effective), does this mean that the RAM module can only run at 133Mhz, or can it run to 266Mhz (as that is the effective speed of FSB on this CPU).