When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Planet Ocean Chrono Quartz

Everythingape

Just thought I'd write a few words about it.

I love the Orange Planet Ocean Chrono, so when ordering some watches from Andrew, I bought one of these too, the quartz model. I know this is like cursing in church, but being an engineer, I don't trust stuff that don't run on diesel or batteries yet.. ;)

I might buy a mechanical version of this watch when it's closer to the original.

The watch looks good and feels solid, it has got most of the 7750-flaws, like the white 90-degree wrong datewheel, fat 3-6-9-12 numbers, too distinct hour-marker frames and the bracelet feels a bit tinny and light. (Though it feels good on the wrist) The clasp is ok, but the diver's extension can be a hassle if you don't get it right.

The flaws of the 7750-PO have already been pointed out in this section, so I wont bore you with those details. I have not actually handled one of these, so the owners of such watches will have to excuse me.

I'd rather point out what is good in my quartz.

I actually think it looks somewhat better than the mechanical version due to better sub-dial spacing, though the dials are mixed around and marked all wrong.

The hands are longer and more accurate

3-6-9-12 markers are better, not so square.

And the pusher ends are better. (without the flare on top)

Weighs in at 145g, and compared to my SMP GMT's 155g, it still feels solid.

It's a cheap watch, but a nice chrono. I like it.

114923-23001.jpg 114923-23002.jpg 114923-23003.jpg 114923-23004.jpg 114923-23005.jpg

Thanks for the review, everything!

I really like the look of this, and quartz movement doesn't bother me.

I'm going to order this from Andrew.