When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

GMT Master II Review

TeeJay

I will preface this review by noting that this is a far from flawless replication of the GMT Master II. Anyone who wants a 100% accurate watch, this is not the watch for you. If you want something which represents the overall aesthetic of the GMT Master II, it might be suitable... Apologies for the poor quality photos, the dust is on the exterior of the crystal, not the interior or dial, and yes, the laser-etched coronet is offset...

Unlike some of my previous reviews, which have 'graded' the various components of the watch, in this instance, I just want to present some photos, and my observations on the watch. I would be the first to admit that I am no expert when it comes to the GMT Master, although I know the basics of the watch's origins via a collaboration between Rolex and Pan-Am. Also, this is not a watch purchased for my own collection, but a belated birthday gift for one of my best friends. This particular variant of the GMT Master II, having solid end links, I believe would make this an early 2000s era, and the case should have drilled lug holes. Oh well...

First Impressions:

When I unwrapped the watch, I had some conflicting feelings. Appreciation for the rich colors of the bezel insert, disappointment (in design) at the Twin Lock crown and bracelet clasp which is sans diver's extension. Of course, both of these features are correct for the GMT Master II, but those other details are things which I personally like on a watch of this size.

DSCN3038.jpg