When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

PP Aquanaut review *New*

fischyyy

Hey guys,

the postman dropped my new Patek Phillipe Aquanaut off this morning, I'm exited to wear it and will post my first impressions and some pics.

Dial

img0036yc.jpg

Band

img0038xw.jpg

Caseback

img0039q.jpg

Clasp

img0045ed.jpg

Lumeshot

img0042ly.jpg

Wristshot

img0040cv.jpg

It is the ETA-Version which I got from Andrew, it looks really nice and the quality of the fit an finishing is amazing compared to my Planet Ocean rep. It is really well made, I especially love the dial, you cannot see it on the pics but is really is a 1:1 rep. As I have no long term experience with the accuracy yet I can't vouch for that, but Anderew calibrated it to +3s before shipping and I expect it to be really accurate.

The two things which I do not love are the clasp, which feels a bit flimsy and cheap, it does not close 100% and leaves a small gap, and I find the finishing on the movement to be a bit lazy.

The genuine Aquanaut is a normal 21k rotor and not some crazy off center micro rotor movement, so with some more finishing and correct engravings the movement really could be nearly 1:1 as well.

I'd happily pay 100 bucks more for that.

The lume is much better than on the pic, i think it's better than my Omega Seamaster PO.

With the Omega being my daily beater I found the Patek to be incredibly light, lighter than almost any watch I have ever worn.

It almost feels too light and a bit toy-like. As i do not have the weight of the genuine or a digital scale I cannot say if this is down to the rep or if it's just the normal feel of the rep.

But I still love the feel on the wrist, you hardly notice it, it's understatement at it's best, in a very beautiful and comfortable package.

Great rep!