When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

A7750 escape wheel

spookycord

I have a question for the experts. I was changing a date wheel on an A7750 and all of a sudden heard a long whir as the mainspring released and unwound itself. I noticed that the escape wheel pivots where not sitting in it's jewel. I tried to set it without removing any bridges but it seemed like the gap between the bridges that hold it was just ever so slightly too far apart. I then tore town the movement, removing the bridges to expose the mainplate and wheels, reset all the wheels and escape wheel, but when i put the bridge back on top, same problem. The escape wheel pivot just is not reaching the top plate.

I am a noob at all this, trying to learn by trial by fire I guess, but could use some help. The Zigmeister's references are awesome, but I'm stuck. Am I missing something or did I break something?

On another note, any tips on how to prevent from losing the tiny screws that sometimes pop off when removing?

Look closely at the top and bottom pivots of the escape wheel, I would guess that the pivot is broken off...hence your problem...

RG

i kinda suspected that might be it. the bottom of the wheel has about a 1mm stem and the top about 3mm. i'll take a pic when i get a chance. if it is broken where can i get a new one?