When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

GMT IIC V1

Bark3rd

This has been a great watch I bought from another member here, its the CHS version. Unfortunately the tiny white paper triangle that sits inside the hour marker has come unglued and is loose inside the crystal. I took the watch to a local watchsmith who was afraid to pull the crown tube out and refused the job. Im no watch mechanic, any ideas for this repair or is it a goner? No way will I wear it as is, looks bad.

It's not super hard to remove the movement/dial assembly and once you get that out you may stand a pretty good chance of being able to glue it back into place as long as you have some fine tweezers and good magnification... But, if you don't have what I would consider average manual dexterity/ability then maybe look for another repairman as I don't see why the tube would need to come out...

Incredibly, the exact same thing (triangle piece fell out of my CHS) just happened to me 15 minutes ago!!!!!!!!

I was cleaning the watch & accidentally dropped it 2 inches onto the table, which caused the triangle to pop out & land between the dial & second hand, stopping the watch.

All your watchmaker needs to do is remove the caseback, remove the 2 screws/tabs that secure the movement into the case, remove the crown/stem & then remove the movement/dial assembly from the case. I used GC Crystal Cement, which every watchmaker should have on his bench, to glue the triangle back in place. If your local watchsmith is hesitant to perform this simple task, I would take your business to another watchmaker.

• 1 year later...

Back from the dead! It is funny how I gravitate away from interest here, wear mostly gens for a year or so, then come back. I just enjoy the subject of reps; for some reason I gravitate towards things that most people know nothing about.