When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

MBW AP RO, gen dial

exeekias

Hi all,

I don't post here much but I thought since you have a special AP forum you guys might like this :)

I got this MBW Royal Oak w/ 39mm case off another forum so that the gen dial I had bought off the 'bay could have a home. It was an easy swap, and here are the results. I'm no expert on AP by any means, so I really have no idea as far as accuracy to the gen, but I'd love to hear any comments and suggestions along those lines. I'm definitely trying to improve my knowledge of the extensive Royal Oak line.

Here's a before shot:

APRO1.jpg

Here is a comparison of the gen dial on the left and the rep dial/mov't on the right. The rep dial is pretty close. I'm not sure if the rep is based on exactly the same model as my dial. The gen was .5mm smaller in diameter. Main differences are the AP logo and text, both of which are bigger on the rep. Also, although it's hard to tell from the pics, the guilloche/waffle pattern (please help me out if there's a specific term I'm missing) on the gen produces an almost 3-D starburst effect that is absent from the rep. On the whole though, while the rep dial is pretty good, it is definitely lacking in "richness" compared to the gen.

APRO2.jpg

Here are a couple shots of the dial installed, first outdoors then indoors. The gen dial has a couple scratches in it, which thankfully are not at all noticeable with it installed, unless you look really really close. I think the lack of AR helps in this respect:

APRO4.jpg