When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Lume color advice needed...

TeeJay

A few recent posts have made me realize that it's time I graduated from 'short-pants' and got myself a DRSD. I don't care how plausible it might be for someone of my age and status to be wearing one, I want one, so have been doing quite a bit of research on the subject, and today, decided to start some provisional prep work with regards the lume on the dial. Before anyone says anything, yes, I know that the lume on a 40 year old watch would not be good, and the luminous paint I'm using is adequate, but certainly not super-lume in terms of luminosity and duration of glow... My pockets aren't deep, so my plan is to obtain one of the readily available 1665s from a dealer, and making a few aesthetic modifications, ie insert fading, case softening etc, but the dials available are that yellow color which isn't really what I have in mind... I want the watch to look 40 years old, but not with the harsh yellow lume which some genuine examples have shown... I might bake the dial for a few seconds, but essentially, I just want to re-lume the dial, then matte spray. With that aim in mind, I've been doing some experimentation with what I have available, and was hoping that folks might be able to give a 'yay or nay', as to if they consider the appearance/color of the lume to be in accordance with the standards of a Mark IV dial. This is a thin coat of white enamel paint, covered with a thin coating of luminous paint. As you can see, the base color is a variety of yellow tones, and personally, I think that the color has been reasonably obliterated. To my eye, I would describe the color as a very pale creamy off-white. Black was used as edging, just to show how the contrast might look on a dial :) Thanks for reading the long-winded explanation, and thanks in advance for any feedback :good::drinks:

DSCN4094.jpg