When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Losing time

martijnp

Hi guys,

A very generous member gave me his Breitling Navitimer because he didn't wear it anymore. It's a one year old watch and it's bought from Trusty. I think it's a 7750 but I'm not sure because i'm still a complete noob regarding machanics/movements. The second hand should stand stil at 12 but it runs. Also the sec at 9 runs. The pushers doesn't work, I think it's missing something and that's why the pushers don't work. The watch is also losing time, how can I fix this? I enclosed a picture of the movement.

Thanks in advance!

ti97.jpg

Curious if it's loosing time since the main spring can't provide enought power to run both the movement (time) and the chronograph? Have you tried either keeping it on a winder or manually winding it to give it as much of a wind as possible and see if it is still loosing time?

Curious if it's loosing time since the main spring can't provide enought power to run both the movement (time) and the chronograph? Have you tried either keeping it on a winder or manually winding it to give it as much of a wind as possible and see if it is still loosing time?

Thanks for your reply! I had the watch on my wrist for a whole day and was already losing time, set the time right and put it in the winder and when I woke up it was running behind again.. 

Yes that's the A7750

Unfortunately a advanced movement to work on, there is at least 1 piece missing that I can see and if you look at your picture, at the 1 o'clock position above that red circle half of that screw head is missing.

The chances of an inexperienced person repairing that (if you can get the parts) is almost zero.

A watch running slowly can be for a number of reasons again none of which a inexperienced person would be able to repair on that movement.