When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Help please guys!

predfan2001

I have a friend who works on gen. Rolex watches. I have purchased all of my gens from him. I haven't seen him in a couple of years and I ran into him the other day. I told him that I was getting into mod'ing reps. He gave me a fairly nice vintage genuine 1680 dial and a tropic crystal that I would like to install into a rep. I need advise on which rep. best accepts a genuine dial. I've heard that some reps will not accept a gen. dial, they are too small in diameter for some rep cases.

I was wondering if anybody had any advise on this. I don't really want to invest in a MBW to mod. at this point, I am just getting started. I'm not a novice but I don't trust myself mod'ing a $450 watch at this point. I was wanting an ETA vintage Sub rep. to try this out on. I plan to get the rep., fix the cgs, install the tropic, put in the gen. dial and install a gen. tube and crown.

I trust your opinions. I have made a few bad purchases that made me realize that I should have asked questions here.

Thanks in advance!

Guest avitt

My suggestion:

Set that dial and crystal aside, until you feel ready to install them into an MBW (the only rep case which is worthy of these parts). In the meantime, pick up some cheap sub reps, and practice your modding techniques. There is plenty of material here to help tutor you along.

There is only one way: you should buck up and get an MBW. This is after you get some practice on some cheapo reps like Avitt suggested.

If you don't want to spend $$$, pace yourself. Either way, MBW will allow you to use genuine parts. Like I said, you can slowly, over the course of a few months, purchae all the parts needed for your mods.