When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Planet Ocean for a new guy

downtown

I'm new to the rep world. as of right now I don't own any. just a $150 nixon, so I have a few questions to all of you folks:

1. If i'm completely new to the watch world, does it REALLY matter what kind of movement i get? asian or eta?

2. All i really want is a Planet Ocean 42 mm on ss bracelet. From what i've seen the "UPO" is the best out there, but i'm afraid it would look too big on my 7" wrist. I'm on a budget and don't really care if the lume or the ar coating looks 'perfect' but i would be concerned about the bracelet (if there really is a big gap on the 4th generation 42).---- should i just get the UPO because its more-or-less perfect, or should i get the 42 (which is what i really want)? I realize there are modifications i could do to it, but i'm not experienced nor comfortable about sending it away. basically wearing it out of the box.

3. how long do these things last, could i wear them in the shower?

4. am i just better off getting a nice timex quartz for the same price? i'd prefer a nice watch, as i don't really have much. just a hefty tuition and would like to do something nice for myself. I really only want to spent 300 MAX on a watch.

to be honest, a couple of wrist-shots with a upo and a 42mm would be awesome, just so i could see the overall size difference. the quality of the upo is pretty tempting, but it'd probably look ridiculous on me.

Welcome.