When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Rolex Explorer II Dial problems

geestyleed

Hi guys!

I was wearing the whole weekend my white beauty, when I saw that the dial is agley.

Where the date is the dial is "normal" but at the "9" the dial is too deep, so - damn too difficult to describe - here a small draft.

agleydiall7s.jpg

The hands are working 100% normal. When I look directly on the dial you dont see it that the dial is agley.

What can I do there. I have never worked on a watch and normally I have two left hands concerning technics.

Heeeeelp ;)

Edited by geestyleed

Maybe a subjective impression? I'm not an expert by all means, but I think that it's impossible. The dial is fixed (glued?) to the movement, and the movement should be forced in the correct position (with regard to a 3-9 axis) by the stem. It could only pivot on that axis (the stem). On the other hand, the hands are directly connected to the movement; if the dial was unglued, the hands would scrape the dial. The experts will correct me if I am wrong.

Most likely, 1 (or both) of the 2 tabs/screws that secure the movement in the case is loose or missing, so there is nothing holding the movement in place. This is not a good thing! However, as long as nothing has been damaged (yet), this is a very simple fix for ANY watchmaker.

In the meantime, I would recommend that you not wear the watch. Instead, place the watch - dial facing UP - on a table & leave it that way until you can get it to a watchmaker to have the movement secured in place. If you keep wearing it, you are going to damage it.

DamN! And there is no good watchmaker in my area.....

:bye2:

This is 1 of the few repairs that you can probably do yourself if you are careful & able to remove the caseback.