When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

V3 DSSD Just arrived- a brief review

wombat247

I ordered a DeepSea Sea-Dweller from Josh on Sunday and the watch arrived here (in NYC) yesterday (Wednesday). I think that might be a new record.

Many of you know this is not my first rep. http://www.rwg.cc/members/index.php?showtopic=87818&hl= So consider the source of these comments.

I'm not posting pics cuz as you can see from that other post, they come out crappy anyway. I'm a professional photographer but I've never been able to muster any interest in photographing watches so all I do are snapshots. Shoot me.

Anyway, there are plenty of pics of this rep out there so you can get a good idea of what it looks like. Lanikai did an EXCELLENT review here: http://www.rwg.cc/members/index.php?showtopic=88625

Lanikai did an excellent review and after studying the watch I received, I can say with authority that his review is accurate. I'd like to provide some additional thoughts. First of all, I bought this watch because I felt the need for a micro-adjustable bracelet. I was considering a few options- Glashutte Original diver (too expensive and too ugly), Seiko MarineMaster (still can't bring myself to spend $2k on a seiko but maybe one day), Seiko spring drive diver (I'd have to sell my sea-dweller to get this one and again, I'm not ready to trade something with proven value for something that may or may not be worth anything in a year or two). I also wanted a nice, hefty dive watch... I was considering a Seiko "Sumo" for around $400 or $500 but it doesn't have the micro-adjustable bracelet.