When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

How to tell if it's 21J or ETA without Opening

Harrison S

hey guys... I just got my Explorer I from trustywatchguy in the mail.

Everything looks good but oddly the rolex hologram sticker isn't present... or to be seen anywhere.

Anyway... I'm wondering if there is a way to check if the watch is a 21J asia or ETA... I ordered the "swiss" eta, version...

Oh, I mean check without opening...

I'm a complete noob at this... but I compared the tick sounds with a gen Omega seamaster pro 300m, and the speed of the ticks matches the rep Explorer I.

Does this mean it's 28,800 bph? aka ETA? I heard Asia 21J has a lower bph.

thanks

hey guys... I just got my Explorer I from trustywatchguy in the mail.

Everything looks good but oddly the rolex hologram sticker isn't present... or to be seen anywhere.

Anyway... I'm wondering if there is a way to check if the watch is a 21J asia or ETA... I ordered the "swiss" eta, version...

Oh, I mean check without opening...

I'm a complete noob at this... but I compared the tick sounds with a gen Omega seamaster pro 300m, and the speed of the ticks matches the rep Explorer I.

Does this mean it's 28,800 bph? aka ETA? I heard Asia 21J has a lower bph.

thanks

Hi there it may be the asian eta this is 28,800 bph but the vintage rolexes suite better the lower beat i replace my 5512 trustytime swiss eta 28,800 with a slower beat old 1970s 2783 eta to be closer to the gen beat!

Edited by aeromatic

There are also clone and other brands that tick 28000 bps.

The only way to find out if it's a gen ETA is to open the case back and shoot some detailed pics

of the movement.

Eurotimez once posted a pictorial on how to determine if it's a clone or a gen.

Hit the search button and you will find it.

By the way i saw another post of you where you said it was loosing 5 sec in 2 hours meaning 1 minute a day.