When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Help with removing mechanism

I know very little about watches, but have recently purchased an Ikepod Hemipode replica. The quality and detail are fairly poor so I wanted to see if I could modify the face.

I have followed tutorials on this forum to remove the crown and rotor, but the mechanism won’t come out! The case appears to be in two sections, so maybe the inner casing is removed to access the mechanism and face – however I don’t have a clue how to remove it. There is a small hole in the casing below where the strap would be, could this release the face somehow?

As I’ve said, I’m not too good with watches so I’d appreciate it if anybody could look at the 2 photos and give any suggestions! Thanks.

Ok I'm going to venture a guess here, I think the dial and movement come out through the front, can that line running around the top be a seam of a threaded screw down bezel?

Try grasping the top above the seam line with your right hand and the bottom with your left hand hand and twisting so that your right hand is turning anti clockwise.

Lets me know how it goes.

Ken

Maybe its a similar set up to the 1950 where it comes out the front as the dial seems to be holding it in place. Try using a blade along the joint around the top ans see if the crystal pops off.

*edit, Sorry ken not copying just slow at typing!

Edited by Bazz

I've clamped the bottom half and tried to unscrew the top, but can't get a decent grip! A scalpel doesn't loosen the glass or metal - I might try to get one of those suction wrenches designed to remove the casing off of ebay (they're only cheap!) and see if that helps. Thanks for the advice, I'll keep trying!

Scalpel :wallbash:

Maybe this is not the best watch to start tampering with and follow Kens advice and wait for instructions from The Zigmeister, rbj or the like :)

Gran :help: