When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Do Reps Get Better With Time?

tmark

As a newbie I was wondering if reps get revised from time to time. Obviously some of the more popular ones-rolex, omega, pam, just keep improving. But what about the others. For example fa jones, as I understand it very accurate front, but ofcourse back is generic. If one waits what is the chance that this will improve? Now perhaps this isn't a fair question as the fa jones back is quite unique. But it seems many reps, even those that are very accurate have flaws, wrong hands, wrong markings on subdial etc. In your experience do the reps improve over time? And I guess a related question. How long do reps stay in production? Bottom line, if I think I like a watch but would like some portion of it to be more accurate, should I buy it now, because it may not be available later or should I just wait for the next model to come out?

As a newbie I was wondering if reps get revised from time to time. Obviously some of the more popular ones-rolex, omega, pam, just keep improving. But what about the others. For example fa jones, as I understand it very accurate front, but ofcourse back is generic. If one waits what is the chance that this will improve? Now perhaps this isn't a fair question as the fa jones back is quite unique. But it seems many reps, even those that are very accurate have flaws, wrong hands, wrong markings on subdial etc. In your experience do the reps improve over time? And I guess a related question. How long do reps stay in production? Bottom line, if I think I like a watch but would like some portion of it to be more accurate, should I buy it now, because it may not be available later or should I just wait for the next model to come out?

Its a hard question to answer.