When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Where to begin learning to do modifications?

heffy

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the beautiful world of watches and love the mix of art and precise engineering that goes into a watch (a well made one that is). I love just looking at watches for their beauty (since I was 6!) and now, have grown interested in watchmaking.

Now, of course, I'd have to go to a proper watchmaking school for that, and I can't just jettison my job (esp since I've just joined the workforce from school!) and go to switzerland/japan to learn watchmaking. So, I'll just learn it in my own time and I thought learning to modify or put together my own watch from parts would be a great baby step.

I feel fortunate to have found this forum where people appreciate similar interests - modify watches for self-satisfaction and also to search/make that "perfect replica". My friends give me a 'why the hell do you want to do that? just buy the real thing!' look when I tell them this but I gather they do not gain and are not able to appreciate the same satisfaction I will get if I can finally modify/put together a great watch or buy an excellent replica (of course I luuuurve the gen ones too).

So, anyway, the point is, how and where can I begin to learn how to do this? And what tools would be essential to start learning?

Thanks!

*edit - typo

Edited by heffy

You learn here.. we have all the best literature and members who mod..

first things first.. ...

Welcome .. to RWG..that is the first step.. then you are on your way..

spend some time reading.. it's all here and the greatest Community on the net

take your time .. suggest you do the intro in the intro section and you will be well on your way.. :thumbsupsmileyanim:

AC

L

Welcome!