When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

New Members with 0 posts and feedback wanting to buy

Hi

I've never experienced anything like this on any other forum, I might just be to suspicious and untrusting or am I?

I've posted a watch in the sales section and I recieved a fair number of enquiries, it's a nice piece so that' wasn't so unexpected. What I was suprised about was the number of brand new members with 0 posts wanting to buy it. I've been turning down there offers to buy the asking price as I don't want to run the risk of being scammed.

Have any others experienced this?

PS I'm sorry I've been really bad at replying to all genuine enquiries re my Tudor, I'm moving house this week and it's proving to be more exhausting that i thought!

I generally just delete the PM's and ignore them.  Sorry.  I know I was a noob once too, but I had several posts and was actually involved with the Forum quite a bit prior to my very first purchase from another member.  To me it just seems a little too fishy.  

There's a TON of PayPal scams going on lately too, so I am even more wary.

Well said Red, people are all over my gen Doxa, and like you said, some with 0 posts and no history here at all.

A general point of advice:  if you can, get external references, ideally from people you already know on other boards.  That helps a lot.

It's interesting to hear that others have been approached by new 0 post members wanting to buy watches. It's not as if they introduce themselves in their messeges nor do they provide any references to prove they are genuine.

I don't know what the restrictions currently are on the private sales forum but maybe something like a 50 post limit before you can view could be considered?

Edited by Sidney Youngblood

As a noob myself I would like to add a few comments to your discussion.