When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

21j With Power Reserve?

mog

I'm still learning so apologies if this is a dumb question or it has been covered elseswhere (i really did use the search facility, honest!).

I get the impression that the Asian 21J seems to be a pretty good movement for your money, but how do they fair when used with power reserve? How does the power reserve indicator actually work?

I have a few Asian power reserve models, VC, Pam, etc.

Have all been reliable.

As the watch is wound, either by crown or motion, the indicator goes up telling you it has the relative indicated reserve power.

Same here.

Just, it may happen that the power reserve gauge on the dial does not perfectly fit the actual power reserve of the movement: you may run out of power when the power indicator still points at 10 (or even 15) hours.

This is due to the need for a close-with-gen dial, not to a flaw or fault in the 21J PR module.

Not a great issue, though: once you are aware of it, you also know how to behave with it.

:blink:

I'm afraid we are speaking of different movements.

The Asian 21J is actually a copy of the Miyota 8215, not of the ETA 2893.

And the ETA 2893 is not a PR movement, but a GMT movement.

His PR brother is the 2892-A2.

I'm afraid we are speaking of different movements.

To my knowledge the 2892-A2 does noes not have a power reserve function by default. The power reserve function is added to the movement by installing a soprod power reserve module.

So what I am hearing is that the an additional power reserve module is added to the movement to give it the PR feature and generally they seem to work fine.

I have been looking at the same PAM 090 as you 2005SUB, but I can't really justify the expense of any of the Eta ones. :(

As it is I haven't told the wife yet about the B&R winging its way to me for Christmas! :thumbsupsmileyanim: