When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

water resistant

scrog10

Hi Newbie here

I've been looking for a Rolex and or GMT with a usuable water resistance. Ideal would be in excess of 100m so I can go swimming of even dive without worry.

The only reps of any brand I have found is WM9 with a stated resistance of 300m. I have read that these are good watches. Are there any others out there ?

I'm also a Breitling Skyland and Planet ocean fan.

Thanks

Chrono watches are much more difficult to make water resistant than non-chrono watches. PO has the helium value, another weak spot.

IMO, best our-of-the-box for water use are the Breitling Superocean Steelfish watches. I've also taken my SlyTech (a chrono watch) and noob Sub into the water.

Best advice is to grease the seals yourself or have a watchman do it for you. Then have it tested to see how deep it will go. Doesn't cost much and can usually be done locally. To do anything else is to guess. I guessed with the 3 watches I mentioned above and did okay.

Also, it's not uncommon for reps to arrive with a loose caseback.

Edit to add: keep this in mind:

There is actually a European standard for the descriptions used to indicate water resistance on watches. It goes something like this:

'30m' or '3 ATM' : Splash proof but should not be submerged. Not suitable for swimming.

'50m' or '5 ATM' : Suitable for swimming but not poolside diving.

'100m' or '10 ATM' : Suitable for swimming, poolside diving and watersports.

'200m' or '20 ATM' Suitable for diving. (Always check manufacturers guide as not all '200m' watches are designed for diving.)

Watches with the lowest level of water resistance are labeled simply "water-resistant." They can withstand splashes of water but should not be submerged. Above that (or below it, literally speaking), the most common designations are