When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

What happens when a dial has no feet?

nakortheblue

Opened my new 42mm PO and wasn't able to see any dial feet sticking out from the back of the movement.

After I took off the hands, I loosened the feet clamps and tried to remove the dial... It was stuck.

It took some force to pry it loose and I turned around and found traces of glue on the underside and the "lips" of the movement.

Is this the normal way of attaching a feetless dial to a movement?

Just wondering how normal my watch is...

Pic follows.

Thanks for looking.

gluevq8.jpg

I'm a noob but i know for certain that mounting a dial with glue isn't normal.

It might work but it's a very tricky operation.

You can buy dial feet which you can glue on the dial with epoxy.

Carpe Diem

Cats

oh sorry and an answer to your question : It can't walk

Not uncommon. You have to use them when you have to cut off the dial feet when transplanting a movement that has the clamps in different locations (e.g. swap of an ETA movement to a dial made for a DG2813).

Look for Dial Dots at the bottom of this page:

Ofrei Dial Dots

In the pick below...the dial foot broke off:

FM_Mod_11-IMG_4049.jpg

...so a dial dot equivalent was used (essentially 2 sided tape of a proper thickness)...look at the tape over the #3:

FM_Mod_13-IMG_4051.jpg