When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

PAM Crystal Removal

bertieng

Want to remove the sapphire on my 111 for coating. Wonder how to do it. Is it necessary to remove the bezel as well? Seems pretty hard to pop off the bezel without making marks on it and on the case since it sits so tight on the watch unlike the Rollies.

Can the PAM experts chim in for some advice?

Thanks.

I'm no expert.. but you need not remove the bezel.. you do have to remove the crown and the tabs that hold down the movement .. and pop out the crystal.. some of the Pams are tight.. and better to use a crystal press .. one member yers ago slashed himself with a broken crystal.. :black_eye:

You will need a crystal press to put in back on.. with the proper tools it is a breeze.. I recommend the screw down press,.. a set of screw drivers.. a ball case back opener and a blower.. should be very inexpensive at "Watch Bitz"

I highly suggest you go to, here > Watch Bitz.. in the accessories section and order the basic tools for this..you will not be doing this as a profession so the minimal basics is good to start with..they are at great prices .. and will save you a lot of $$ over the expensive tools.. later you can add as your hobby and knowledge grows.

AC

Lani

No need to remove the bezel, but a crystal press would be useful to re-install it properly. To remove, you should also use the crystal press, but it will probably pop out with a bit of pressure applied on it from the inside.

By the way a hand press is fairly cheap, but you will also need to by some large dies for it - as they all come with standard smaller dies.

EDIT: Yeah, what Lanikai said :)