When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Your Favorite Complications? Most Useful?

stang

I'm curious what are everyone's favorite complications are and why? Also, what do you think the most useful complications are? Finally, what are your favorite watch features (WR, bezels, casebacks, lights, straps, etc).

My personal favorites are the chronographs ... probably because they look *SO* cool (to be perfectly honest). As far as utility, admittedly, they aren't very practical for everyday use. Ironically, I actually do use my chrono since I'm a scientist and often have to time various events.

Of the various "complications" I've owned, the alarms were probably the most useful and utilized most often. I think perpetual calenders are extremely useful on a daily basis as well (though I've never owned one myself).

As for features, I insist on a very water resistant watch for sports activities. I prefer diver models because of the W.R. and the timing bezel (which I find useful for timing in general). A dream watch would have tritium illumination or Superluminova as a 2nd choice. I also like the look of polished steel w/ perhaps a bit of gold-plated "bling".

BTW, if I ever do spend $2000 on a watch, it will probably be the Ball Engineer Hydrocarbon Chronograph. A toughness engineering masterpiece. ETA 7750, 7500g shock resistant, 12,000 A/m antimagnetic, 300M water res, -40oC temp range & 30 Tritium GTLS. Soooo Coooolll!!

Chrono with day date like in IWC GST is my daily choice. I use the chrono to time various things such as when to collect my laundry, etc... The day date is important as these are basic necessities to keep myself aware of time.

I am spoiled by sweeping second hands too... So most quartz watches just don't make a cut anymore. The watch should be at least has 28,800 bph to ensure smooth sweeping second :p

Hell... even my desk clock are mechanical 8 days clock.