When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

new Datejust project

robzig

Hi All,

I'm new to the RWG forums but wanted to let everyone know I have a new Datejust project underway. Parts as follows.

- Gen 16233 case ss

- Gen Jubilee bracelet ss

- Gen 6mm crown

- Gen fluted WG bezel

- Gen dial

- ETA 2824-2 movement (such a let down I know but a 3135 is just out of the question right now)

I will be starting the project later this week. Going to laser cut a spacer for the movement to fit etc and will post pics asap. :D

Guest watchbuff

Jules Borel has spacer rings that will fit that need some trimming to get the case back closed.

It's just a matter of assembly and rember:

Planning

-Patience

-Cleanliness

-Steady hands

Have all the correct fitting parts out there ready to be installed or else you are doomed to wait for the mailman to send "what you never planned for"

Envision the finished product, be prepared to make changes along the way, and research forums like these.

I have a 16200 that I am quite proud of all gen except for the ETA 2824-2 movement which has been flawless :lol:

:

If I were this guy I would just hold out for some Gen movement...I mean...everything else on the watch is gen...there is 3135 movement on ebay right now for less then $900....then he would have the real deal....a shame to pop an ETA into all that...

I would love to build a franken with a gen movement myself, but I have yet to see one end for less than $1500. Add in the cost of the parts and you might as well just buy a used watch. Those movements are not a bargain, and who knows how much you are going to spend on an overhaul and replacement parts. There is a reason they are for sale.