When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

I'm a Noob, Visiting China

I travel to China from time to time and each trip I spend a day or two in either Shanghi or Beijing. I like to go to the copy markets and hunt for good deals. I've picked up a half a dozen watches most before I knew what were the popular reps. I don't have a clue yet on how to tell what is a good movement. I always tell them at the copy markets that I want highest quality watches. I have a green bezel SUB which I love. I've also been taken such as my "quartz" Sea Master. I'm trying to learn as much as I can before I go back to the Shanghi market in about two weeks. Sometimes they have to remove fake bottoms in drawers to get to the higher quality watches. Is this a waste of time and money or might I find a great deal once I know what to look for? So far the most I've paid is $30 for a watch.

• 2 months later...

For high quality reps you better stick to the board dealers. Most of the watches you buy in the market are way inferior. You can get high quality reps in a few places, but you mights pay more than here. In Beijing there are a few sellers on the top floor of the Silk Market, and some of the sellers in Hong Qiao market have offices in the Hutong behind the market where they have better quality. From experience it's not worth the effort. You can get somehting more decent in Guangzhou, especially for parts. But you better know what you are looking for.

Thank you very much for the replays guys.

I have read a lot before i made my first post and i'm trying to figure out a couple of things.

One of them is, how does the dealers/collectors here get a hold of these watches? They do get them from china, right?

Do they get them directly from "their" favourit factory? Do they themselves order reps according to their specifications?

Anyone knows how it works?

Raptor