When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Swiss ETA 2836-2 Am I missing something?

zaza

Hey Folks, forgive my confusion but I'm new to all this. I bought a DSSD Swiss ETA 2836-2 from a trusted dealer on this forum. I wound up the crown for like 5 rotations, wore it then went out to the movies.

the watch worked seamlessly, but the hands stopped sweeping as soon as I took it off!

I know that being automatic, the watch has no battery, but isn't it supposed to be self-winding by the movement of your wrist? with 40hrs power reserve? Meaning it should still be ticking for 30-40 hours even after you take it off, or do I have the whole concept upside down?

Where did I go wrong?

Please advise.

Edited by zaza

The first thing you shoud remember is to not hand wind your rep. It's best you swivel or gently rotate/shake the watch,listen for the spin of the rotor. I would try this method and see how the watch responds. If you are still having problems then there is a good chance that the movement may need to be serviced. ,good luck.:) Mike

[The first thing you shoud remember is to not hand wind your rep. It's best you swivel or gently rotate/shake the watch,listen for the spin of the rotor. I would try this method and see how the watch responds. If you are still having problems then there is a good chance that the movement may need to be serviced. ,good luck.:) Mike

Hello Max!

You mean I shouldn't wind the Crown of my Rep?

and What about the 40 Hr power reserve? what does it mean precisely and how is it counted?

Thanks for your help :)

Come on! It's a Swiss ETA. If you can't wind it why would they make it that way. I understand the A7750's problem since it's got crap winding gears..

In my opinion, (take it or leave it), you should wind it fully about 40 times when it's totally dead. Just go slow and steady. Then let the kinetic movement of your wrist keep it wound.