When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

GooApple Iphone4 Clone. Anyone Got one?

plaifender

Hey guys,

I've been researching a lot and simply refuse to pay the 600-800 bucks that an unlocked(VERY important to me) apple Iphone costs.

I've been researching the GooApple Iphone clone for the past two months and it's quite incredible. Processing speed on the latest model is on par with an Apple 4 non-s (850mhz) and it's even got the retina display. Parts are mostly interchangeable and best of all.. it runs Google Android. It can be skinned with IOS but I prefer the straight Android interface.

Turn-offs:

1. Until now, the phone had to be rooted to install a new rom which got rid of some of the annoying Chinese text in certain areas of the UI

2. The latest V5 with retina screen was only available without 3G (complete turn off for me)

They finally released the v5 version with 3g a few days ago and I'm looking at purchasing this at android-sale.com (official developer of the phone). I've been reading a lot on XDA and a few other forums and for the most part, the phone gets great reviews for build quality, hardware and its ability to run Android. For 250usd and completely unlocked quadband.. it looks like an excelent phone that would fool any mac fan and performs great.

Here's a reviews of the GOOAPPLE V5 from Mandjay (a rom developer on XDA):

The new V5 3g version with straight Android UI: (released a week ago)

Pretty damn incredible what are chinese friends are capable of :)

why not just get a factory Android phone and be done with it ?

I'd love a Samsung Galaxy SII if they also weren't about 600 bucks unlocked.. Find me a phone with the processing ability, graphics, smoothness and great looks of this one and I'd say yes.. The only phone that comes close to the Iphone is probably the Galaxy S2 and this clone.. Not to mention.. the status factor of having an Iphone :) haha