When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Vintage 5513 Project?

bbell6

Disclaimer I am a complete novice, I've never even taken the back off a watch. So this is definitely a situation where I'm just jumping in to the deep end of the pool and I'm either going to sink or swim. Any assitance would be greatly appreciated. I'll apologize upfront for the dumb questions that I'm sure I'll ask.

I recently purchased a replacement case off of ebay. It may or may not be any good. I'd like to get people's opinion as to whether this case is worth fooling with or whether I should just scrap it. It is supposed to be for a 5513 and was built to hold a 1520 or 1570. My thoughts are that I would start with an ETA movement and possibly one day upgrade to a rolex movement.

In addition to your opinions on the case, I'd also like some recommendations on necessary tools. I'm not so worried about cost as I am interested in quality. If I can make this first project work, I'll probably build other watches and would rather have good tools upfront rather than having to repurchase later because I went cheap to begin with.

post-5520-1176153100_thumb.jpgpost-5520-1176153144_thumb.jpgpost-5520-1176153153_thumb.jpgpost-5520-1176153164_thumb.jpgpost-5520-1176153177_thumb.jpg

There are various reps that are fairly decent to begin with.

If you are not worried about "cost", then I suggest you sell the case kit you purchased...

And buy a 70s 5513,

Then take a deep breath.

Purchase a Mil-Sub bezel insert, redial the dial with a "T" and change the hands with Sword hands.

You can also have bars welded in as permanent springbars.

You will have a franken of sorts in the end.

I have owned an OEM 5513 for many years and I would never do this to the watch as it is wholly perfect IMHO.

But you can do it to your 5513.