When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

I Feel Like A Schmuck

statikman

I have a new client ( I'm a hair stylist) that noticed my 212 4 weeks ago and complemented me on it. Normally I will let most people know my watch is a rep if they express any interest but this guy was wearing a Santos and said he had a Panerai as well and named the local jeweler he bought it from. We talked watches a bit and I allowed him to think mine was gen.

He came in this evening wearing a beautiful 125 and I happened to be wearing my 118 (on bad python) with the flimsiest lever in the world. You know, when it opens a little on its own just by moving your wrist. He says, "Man, how many Panerais do you own?" and I tell him "just the two." and I go on to change the subject, while trying to keep my left arm from being too close to his sight line.

Throughout the appointment, he talks about ethics in life and business. He is from India and is an MIT grad, and just a little bit of an elitist. I can tell that he would have no appreciation of a fine replica or the type of person that would buy one so I continue to allow him to think it's genuine.

I have truly never implied my watches were anything other than reps but I know I would lose this guy and his wife as clients if they knew. I've always been quite proud of my reps and have many clients with gen Pannies who know my hobby but I feel like an [censored] perpetrating in this case. Now it's gone too far to come back from so I'm going to have to watch my book for his next visits and make sure I'm not wearing a different Panerai than he's seen already.

Nice one ..well ...its you choice..I just dont care.I will never tell my wathces are reps...only if they really know about watches..or into the hobby..otherwise...Live my life to the max..

:thumbsupsmileyanim:

and at least some people got a genuine watch..not like me ...cant afford it ...