When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

2 Questions

Edge

Well actually more than 2 questions:

What size drill bits do you guys use to do the lugs/bracelet on Vintage Rolex's? Any Sources?

Jetsons was great to point me to some but they don't ship internationally and the measurement is in inches so not really ttransferrable.

Next.......

Where do yo guys source Genuine Springbars??

Last but not least.....

Why wont people apply tritium??

And don't say cos it's radioactive....

Tritium (3H) T : maximum effect kC-H /kC-T ~ 16

Half life of 12.28 years, radiation = beta, range in air 4.7 mm, doesn’t present external

radiation hazard.

.....Cos I am a chemist

I contacted Doxa and asked why no Tritium on their watches and they said because of studies linking it to impotence.

I guess to many ppl put their hands in their pockets.

ONLY if you get it on your hands and don't get it off, then nip upstairs and play wit yersel.

If you are carefull there is NO harm from tritium I mean the radiation is weak enough to be stopped by a bit paper. And it'll only do you any harm if you start drinkin the fukin stuff lol.

Companies don't use it that much because of the PROLONGED exposure that it MAY cause problems with the folk applying it, but we are talking about putting it on like 1 or 2 watches not 3000+ a year lol.

If it's for your 1680 then 1.3mm is the size to use. Try these guys for carbide bits and make sure your drill is spinning fast enough when you drill them. Good idea to put a piece of masking tape over the hole just in case you slip. Then very slightly grind off the burr using a tapered grinding tool for a Dremel. Then just repolish the sides. Easy really.

Drill Bits

Guest avitt

These bit are perfect.

For the lugs:

Snap-on Cobalt Drill Bit #55

For the end links:

Snap-on Cobalt Drill Bit #46

I have great success with the following technique: