When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

silly questions about the lifespan of movements

kenmasters

I like reps, but I'm not a movement pro... still learning, so please bare with me ! :D

What makes Asian movements cheaper than Swiss ? In terms of life expectancy.. cheaper parts ? lack of care in putting it together ? lack of service/lubrication ?

Now, say the average lifespan of an asian movement is 5 years, if I only wear the watch 1 day/week, does this increase the life expectancy of the movement x 7 ?

Why 5 years ? Why not 10 or 20 ? Compared to Motor Vehicles, that have a life expectancy in double digits xx years (or xxxx kms).. Do you think watches are very poor in quality? If I don't drive my car, it still slowly degrades over time ! Unless I do proper preparation for storage, like taking out all the fluids, low humidity storage room, etc...

Thanks,

K

B)

What makes Asian movements cheaper than Swiss ?

The cheaper Asian movements are simply not designed to last. Using cheaper parts and materials, you're never going to get the longevity that you'll get using parts chosen for their lifespan instead of their cost.

As for actual timelines on how long anything will last, no-one really knows. From anecdotal evidence, ETA movements will last for decades if well cared for.

Some of the newer Asian movements do have reasonable quality parts but the issue is often how they are assembled. Pug is right that many are just plain old substandard. Any decent movement which is properly serviced should last for years. Real ETA's can last for decades. But they should be serviced every 4-5 years whether or not they are used.

So they're just plain cheaper, in either parts or assembly... if the darn thing breaks down, can they be simply serviced and brought back to life ? or is it cheaper just to get a new movement ?