When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Breaking habits

andreww

I've been collecting automatic reps for five or six years now and my collection is at about a dozen watches. My main watchbox has six slots that are filled (my daily worn pieces) plus the one on my wrist makes seven. For a number of years I have been hand winding each of these watches before bed every night to ensure that whatever piece strikes my fancy is always at the ready. I've not had any movement issues as of yet, but I am constantly noticing the screw downs on the crowns are getting less and less reliable (especially the Omegas).

I've decided that its time to put an end to this destructive behavior, and have vowed to leave all my watches to grind to a halt. I will choose the next day's watch every evening and bring it to life with a gentle shake, and adjust the date and time. Something tells me that this behavior pattern may be a lot harder to kick than I think, but I see it as "tough love".

Hopefully I'll be increasing the lifespan of these watches, but only time will tell. I'll let you know how things work out.

Anybody else kicked the habit?