When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

There is a lot of photography within these fora.

Packard

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Canon EOS400D (and Panasonic Lumix FZ20 before that) with a stock 18-55mm lens. Sometimes I use a reverser-ring for a macro. Lights? Just one or two boring spots and a light tent. All of this goes into a MacBook with Adobe CS4.

While it's important to have a decent-enough camera, regardless of what purists say, it's not that important to spend too much.

Settings? I start on Aperture Priority and see where I end up.

oyster-08-640.jpg

The right one. Your photos are amazing.

Thank you, Pugs. I've learned quite a lot from you and BT over the years... And for that, I'm grateful. I'm still learning... And have a ways to go... But it's definitely a lot of fun, and an unexpected secondary hobby resulting from my first love of watches!

^_^

@Pug and Ubi

I have a macro setting on my camera but are there any techniques I can use to get even closer? With this P&S I don't think I can use any lens attachments.

A Macro setting is only really useful if you want to take really close up close-ups. If you want to take an entire watch, a macro isn't the best choice.

If your camera can't take really close macros, there's no amount of magic (short of holding a magnifying glass in front of the lens) that will make it do something it can't.

A Macro setting is only really useful if you want to take really close up close-ups. If you want to take an entire watch, a macro isn't the best choice.

If your camera can't take really close macros, there's no amount of magic (short of holding a magnifying glass in front of the lens) that will make it do something it can't.

Thanks Pug and Ubi

I will give the magnifying glass technique a try. Unfortunately, I do not have a lens from a SLR.