When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Working for watches of Switzerland UK?

lukenorris2011

Hello guys, I want some advice.. I know we are a rep watch forum, but let's face it, we all are here because WE LOVE WATCHES.. No if's, but's or maybes.

Like many of you we spend hours per day just looking at anything watch related, mainly Rolex for me because that's what's fascinated me since I was like 12/13 years old.

I'm only 23 years old , I'm a gas engineer, and without blowing my own trumpet, run a small business which earns me much more then I could ask for.

I have job alerts sent to me everyday, and last week had one for watches of Switzerland, literally 1 mile from me for a job in there Rolex AD. The pay-cut would be substantial, I would be back to the world of 9am- 5pm working hours. But for me in this environment I wouldn't class it just as work as i would be enjoying it every moment I am there.

I will list some pro's and cons, please chime in. Some will think I'm a idiot but honest advice would be really appreciated from my fellow watch people!

Leaving my gas business/ working in WOS

(Cons)

- Big paycut.

- flexible working hours ( I don't have any kids though)

Leaving my gas business/working in WOS

(Pros)

-although flexible, sometimes 2-3am emergency call outs are just dreadful

- working with what excites me. ( Rolex!)

- only 23 years old ( time still to progress)

- 2 miles from work (currently 23 miles to contract area)

- although less, a stable/ guaranteed income

- no more wet/smelly work clothes and dirty hands !! LOL

Most importantly, most do not know, but I have brought and sold 2nd hand gen Rolex also for many years. And consider myself a good solid salesman......

So guys honestly, what would you do ???

Life's a [censored], then you marry one!