When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

1665 DRSD BUILD - *UPDATE*

AGONZCA

Hi guys, I'm new to Vintage Rolex and I'm looking to build a 1665 DRSD base on a MBW I just bought and sourcing the other parts from the best available at the moment.

At this time I'm focus on the dial and just found this 2 I'm hoping the experts here can give me a honest opinion on this 2 I just found.

Thanks in advance for the help.

9836d44cf448d011d77a8eb145f3c751.jpg

879578b5a38eba20d2b47fb39295794a.jpg

d9cd079c3985da73be7bbc7e0b93f172.jpg

Anyone? I'd appreciate the help very much!

Agonzca if I am not mistaken the MBW 1665 has a rehaut milled for a 26mm dial.

A gen 1665 dial is 26.5. Considering this the case will have to have some work to receive the larger gen dial.

I have one of the MBW 1680 single reds on the way too and it will require the same mod.

Slay has done one in tropical parts using one of the Vietnam dials I think. Check his post for furter info on how he resolved this.

Here is the link to Slay's MBW 1680 red.

http://rwg.cc/index.php?/topic/181904-Very-Tropical-MBW-Rlx-1680-Red-Sub

23 hours ago, hugop said:

Agonzca if I am not mistaken the MBW 1665 has a rehaut milled for a 26mm dial.

A gen 1665 dial is 26.5. Considering this the case will have to have some work to receive the larger gen dial.

I have one of the MBW 1680 single reds on the way too and it will require the same mod.

Slay has done one in tropical parts using one of the Vietnam dials I think. Check his post for furter info on how he resolved this.

Here is the link to Slay's MBW 1680 red.

http://rwg.cc/index.php?/topic/181904-Very-Tropical-MBW-Rlx-1680-Red-Sub

I don't think the 1665 dial has to be milled down or the case reamed out- the MBW 1680 is really a copy of the 5513 which results in the smaller dial. The 1665 MBW is a good replica of the original 1665 so there shouldn't be any problem with the dial.