When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Introducing Charles Ginault: Rolex Modder & Custom Builder

ThinkBachs

I like to bounce around the forums because I hate to miss anything (which I do anyway) and found that Mr. Charles Ginault is back on the scene. Who is Charles? I'll let him tell you in his own words...

"Hi, I am Charles. I collect fine Swiss-made timepieces, and also I am a watchmaker by passion.

I’ve been working as an industrial designer for the past 12 years, and I started learning about watchmaking 6 years ago as a hobby. What can I say, gears in motion just has its own fascinating quality.

During the years, most of my learning and work focused on the movement part of the watch as the making of a watch exteriors posses no challenge to a veteran industrial designer.

However, one shocking news changed all that. It was a sad day for most avid watch fans when Rolex announced the discontinuation of their production of their dacade old tradition, the Rolex Submariner 16610.

The Rolex Submariner is a modern horological marvel. Its design, water proof character, and functionality appeals to professionals at large. The Rolex Submariner Date 16610, in my point of view, is the most sophisticated in design from the line's incarnation in 1945.

I’ve decided to take on a project; to build a homage Submariner 16610 which I call the Base Module 1, based on my experience, resources, and understanding of the fine Swiss time piece in honor of this century old design.

In the following days, I will summarize and convert my project log, which was hand written, into digital form and update it here on a Watchmaking blog and the forum for every Rolex fans to share."

Read More: http://www.replica-watches-guide.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=12111&hl=

His Site: http://www.ginault.com/

Why am I so thrilled with this guy? It first started when I found this image online some time ago...

black-watches-004.jpg