When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

All 16610 case/watch experts needed ASAP!

Justasgood

I've got the A serial MBW (Euromariner) with drilled lugholes, I can check it tonight. It sure looks alot like the case you have there. A later Sub dial will fit the 3035 just fine and of course, you've got the old style DW w/ the open 9 in 29.

My rep 93150 bracelet with the gen 501B ends fits my MBW case perfectly- I did drill the lugholes, of course.

Edited by alligoat

I am no expert but the crown guards look short and over polished, which doesn't really match the rest of the case. The engravings in thecaseback look sloppy as well. If it has a service dial, wouldn't it also have a newer style crown?

Not all 1999 dials had "Swiss" only. Some had Swiss Made. The crown is a 703 triplock and depending on the watchmaker, it is probably correct.

The case engravings look excellent but as already commented the caseback ones are not as good.

I also find the crown reaching too high up, at least it looks like this in the picture.

Lugholes are fine for me.

So I would vote for franken with gen case...

Dee

• Like 1

Well, I'm home and I looked at my MBW case and JAG's case is looking a lot better. The MBW has a SN of A845633, same Orig Rolex Design at 12 o'clock, but the case back gives it away- Monarch Polfy S.A., Gelena Shitinerand, Stainless Steel 16610. The other tell is the crown position- it's low on the MBW. JAG's watch has a high crown position.

Does Rolex make a replacement case for the 16800? If this case has a shallow rehaut, then I can't help but wonder if they do.

Or maybe it's like Tribal fitting a 2824-2 movement into a WM9 V2 case, maybe a 3035 will fit in a 16610 case- who knows...

I like the crown position on the case and the sharp bezel teeth, and the CG's look fine to me.