When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

The Great Panerai Strap Caper

Victoria

A lady has a right to be late, but I still apologise for not getting my series off on its designated debut day. But here we are! Ready to review, compare/contrast, and evaluate straps based on many criteria just for you.

First, a word about this series' purpose.

I am not putting myself out as a fashion expert, or a personal shopper, or even someone intimately knowledgeable about the world of leather and strapmaking. Clearly, that expertise belongs to others, many of whose livelihoods are represented in this forum. The inestimable member from Greece, V, is one such person and to him and others belong the technical questions which I am unable to furnish.

Let us not forget that as a newbie, I have very little to offer the more learned members of these forums as yet, so this is my small contribution to our chosen hobby.

But perhaps because I am a woman, and I like fashion, I am often asked for advice from the male members of these forums for this or that strap colour combination.

This isn't a frivolous, or metrosexual concern, as many men would have it.

Oftentimes, their professions demand a certain "look" to go with their jobs' atmospheres; the more sober the environment, the more people feel unwilling to buy a pricey strap -- and most of these straps are in the hundred dollar level and above.

Even if your job or general appearance is informal, this expense is still considerable.

This is the purpose of this series, which I've named in my tongue-in-cheek, happy way, The Great Panerai Strap Caper:

To give you a preview of what these straps may look like, both in ambient and in natural light, whenever possible. Because the dog days of summer are upon us, and soon winter will arrive in the Northern hemisphere, I've chosen transitional colours to start us off.